

19 MAY 22 P6:20

SENATE P.S. Resolution No.<u>1043</u>

)

RECEIVED BY:

Introduced by Senator Richard J. Gordon

RESOLUTION HONORING THE LATE GHAZALI JAAFAR, CHAIRPERSON OF THE BANGSAMORO TRANSITION COMMISSION, FOR HIS OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PURSUIT OF PEACE IN THE BANGSAMORO REGION

WHEREAS, Ghadzali Jaafar was an outstanding Moro leader who dedicated his life to establish unity among the Bangsamoro people and champion the recognition of the justness and legitimacy of their cause of the Bangsamoro people;

WHEREAS, Jaafar started his distinguished leadership while in high school, when he established a group that mobilized the students and out-of-school youth into activisim in Cotabato City and neighboring areas. He went on to become one of the most prominent figures in the historic establishment of the Bangsamoro region;

WHEREAS, Jaafar was the first Vice-Chairman of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) and was credited for steps in pursuance of peace in the Mindanao region. Under his leadership, the MILF started peace dialogues with the Philippine government starting 1997;

WHEREAS, from 1996 to 1997, Jaafar served as the first Chairman of the MILF Negotiating Peace Panel who signed the general cessation of hostilities between the government and the MILF;

WHEREAS, President Rodrigo R. Duterte appointed Jaafar as the Chairman of the Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) that drafted the Bangsamoro Basic Law in 2017, which was later enacted as Republic Act No. 11054, creating the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) in 2018;

WHEREAS, the realization of the BARMM was a result of Jaafar's peacekeeping efforts, earnest work and decades-old comprehensive peace negotiations with the Philippine government and the movement; WHEREAS, he contributed in the campaign for R.A. No. 11054 to win the plebiscite, attending major rallies if only briefly and making sure to make the important calls;

WHEREAS, in February 2019, President Duterte appointed Jaafar as member of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA). On 26 February 2019, BTA interim Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim named him Speaker of the BTA;

WHEREAS, the country lost one of its greatest Moro leaders who tirelessly campaigned for justice and progress of the Bangsamoro people and who has been a dependable partner of the government of the Republic in securing peace in Mindanao;

WHEREAS, Jaafar's sincerity, wisdom and experience are attributes needed to drive his andour dreams of a successful Mindanao. There is an urgent need to continue what Jaafar has started;

NOW, THEREFORE, RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED by the Senate, to honor the late Bangsamoro Transition Commission Chairman GHAZALI JAAFAR for his commitment and great contributions in the pursuit of peace in the Bangsamoro region.

Adopted,

RICHARD J. GORDON