## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 200

RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING STRONG GROUP-PILIPINAS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE CHAMPIONSHIP IN THE 43RD WILLIAM JONES CUP MEN'S EVENT HELD FROM 13 TO 21 JULY 2024 IN TAIWAN

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized outstanding Filipinos who bring honor and glory to the nation through their remarkable feats and prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, the William Jones Cup (Jones Cup), named after Renato William Jones, one of the founding fathers and the first Secretary General of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA), is an esteemed annual international basketball tournament held since 1977;

WHEREAS, the 43<sup>rd</sup> Jones Cup men's event held from July 13 to 21, 2024 in Xinzhuang Gymnasium in New Taipei City, Taiwan was participated by nine (9) teams from Australia, Malaysia, Ukraine, Japan, USA, United Arab Emirates, Taiwan, and the Philippines;

WHEREAS, Team Philippines was represented by Strong Group Athletics (SGA), also called Strong Group-Pilipinas, composed of Ange Kouame, Kiefer Ravena, Rhenz Abando, Jordan Heading, RJ Abarrientos, Dave Ildefonso, Geo Chiu, Caelan Tiongson, Allen Liwag, Tony Ynot, Jonathan Manalili, DJ Fenner, Chris McCullough, and Tajuan Agee, with veteran coaches Charles Tiu and Rajko Toroman;

WHEREAS, the Philippine team reclaimed the championship title last held in 2019, after successfully completing an 8-0 winning streak after the grueling nine-day tournament;

WHEREAS, Strong Group-Pilipinas prevailed against the participating teams from the United Arab Emirates (July 13, 104-79), Australia (July 14, 91-69), Ukraine (July 15, 82-74), Malaysia (July 17, 89-54), USA (July 18, 112-90), Japan (July 19, 92-79), Chinese Taipei (July 20, White, 96-70 and July 21, Blue, 83-79);

WHEREAS, Strong Group-Pilipinas clinched a seventh overall title for the Philippines, securing the country's standing as a basketball powerhouse and the second-best-performing team in Jones Cup history, next to the USA. Team Philippines previously bagged the gold medal in 1981 (Northern Cement team), 1985 (San Miguel team), 1998 (Philippine Centennial team), 2012 (Smart Gilas Pilipinas), 2016 and 2019 (both Mighty Sports team);

WHEREAS, Strong Group-Pilipinas displayed athletic excellence and an unyielding spirit throughout their Jones Cup campaign despite a depleted roster due to the absence of its three key players because of injuries and illness, succeeding against the defending champions, and outperforming teams from the host country with homecourt advantage. Strong Group-Pilipinas showed the exceptional caliber and

sportsmanship of Filipino basketball players, proving that they are on par with the world's best, thereby bringing pride and honor to the country and inspiration to the Filipino people: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend and congratulate Strong Group-Pilipinas basketball team for winning the championship in the 43<sup>rd</sup> William Jones Cup men's event held from 13 to 21 July 2024 in Taiwan;

Resolved, further, That a copy of this Resolution be given to each of the players and coaches of Strong Group-Pilipinas basketball team.

Adopted,

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 24, 2024.

RENATO N. BANFUG Jr.

Secretary of the Senate