## Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

## Senate

Pasay City

Nineteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

## RESOLUTION No. 174

RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING AND COMMENDING THE TEN (10) AWARDEES OF THE 2023 PHILIPPINE RESILIENCE AWARDS FOR WOMEN

WHEREAS, the Philippine Senate has consistently recognized outstanding Filipinos who bring honor and glory to the nation through their remarkable feats and prestigious awards;

WHEREAS, the Philippine Resilience Award is a ground-breaking awards program that recognizes, honors, and promotes the resilience-building excellence of local leaders in the country. It recognizes resilience advocates across various industries and localities for their innovative work in addressing

complex and systemic issues, and acknowledges their significant contributions to disaster risk reduction, as well as climate change adaptation and mitigation efforts in their respective communities;

WHEREAS, ten (10) exceptional women leaders were conferred awards last 12 October 2023, namely:

- 1) Hon. Maria Josefina Belmonte
- 2) Ms. Alicia Ilaga
- 3) Hon. Maria Catalina Cabral
- 4) Dr. Shirley Agrupis
- 5) Ms. Maria Vicente Jalandoni
- 6) Dr. Urduja Alvarado
- 7) Dr. Joy Mirasol
- 8) Ms. Nida Collado
- 9) Sr. Arcelita Sarnillo
- 10) Ms. Mila Bogñabal

WHEREAS, Mayor Maria Josefina Belmonte of Quezon City was recognized for her promotion of resilient food systems and sustainable livelihoods through the implementation of the City's Community-based Urban Farming Program;

WHEREAS, Ms. Alicia Ilaga, Director of the Climate Resilient Agriculture Office of the Department of Agriculture was lauded for her dedication to enhancing community-based resilience in vulnerable farming communities through the Adaptation and Mitigation Initiative in Agriculture Program;

WHEREAS, Undersecretary Maria Catalina Cabral of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) was recognized for advocating the enhancements of crucial infrastructure resilience during the implementation of DPWH projects;

WHEREAS, Dr. Shirley Agrupis, President of Mariano Marcos State University, was commended for facilitating green technological advancements, such as improving sustainable local bioethanol production through the utilization of nipa sap;

WHEREAS, Ms. Maria Vicente Jalandoni, President of the Base Bahay Foundation, Inc., was recognized for advocating sustainable, resilient, and environmentally friendly housing through the implementation of Cement-Bamboo Frame Technology;

WHEREAS, Dr. Urduja Alvarado, President of Cagayan State University, was feted for her community-based resilience endeavors, particularly on ecological progress and the empowerment of mangrove communities in Gonzaga, Cagayan;

WHEREAS, Dr. Joy Mirasol, President of Bukidnon State University, was recognized for advocating the conservation of biocultural diversity and resilience through the enhanced and empowered management of Protected Areas in Mindanao;

WHEREAS, Ms. Nida Collado, a farmer and the President of the Macatumbalen Community-Based Forest and Coastal Management Association, was awarded for fostering community-centered sustainable forest management and environmental preservation in San Vicente, Palawan;

WHEREAS, Sr. Arcelita Sarnillo, Hospital Administrator of St. Paul's Hospital of Iloilo, Inc., was lauded for her recognition of the connection between human health and environmental factors, advocating for environmentally friendly, sustainable, and climate-resilient healthcare through the Green and Healthy Hospital Program;

WHEREAS, Ms. Mila Bogñabal, President of the Joroan Farmers and Fisherfolks Association, was recognized for advancing resilient food systems and sustainable livelihoods in Joroan, Tiwi, Albay through the adoption of climate-resilient agricultural practices;

WHEREAS, the ten (10) awardees of the 2023 Philippine Resilience Awards for Women have demonstrated exceptional leadership, dedication, and innovation in their respective fields which significantly contributed to the advancement of resilience, empowerment, and gender equality in the Philippines;

WHEREAS, it is only fitting that the Senate of the Philippines extend its heartfelt congratulations and commendation to the awardees for their remarkable achievements: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To congratulate and commend the ten (10) awardees of the 2023 Philippine Resilience Awards for Women.

Adopted,

FRANCIS "CHIZ" G. ESCUDERO

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 17, 2024.

RENATO N. BANTUG Jr.
Secretary of the Senate